Tags

, , ,

One of our best friends celebrated his first birthday this week!  Bailey’s infectious joy and enthusiasm add so much happiness to my days that I knew I had to make something extra special to celebrate his beautiful little life.  Because Bailey wouldn’t have it any other way, I made extra so that all of his friends could share in the joy of the occasion.  Next thing I knew I was getting requests left and right for the recipe.  So, in Bailey’s honor, I’m sharing it with everyone.  Bailey and I hope your pups love them as much our friends did!

Birthday BaileyBailey’s Banana Apple Bars

1 egg
1/3 cup all natural applesauce, no sugar added
1/4 cup honey
1 banana, cut into small chunks
1 1/2 cups unbleached white flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 cup sour cream
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup unsalted walnuts, chopped

 

Mix all the ingredients together in a large bowl.  Pour the batter into a greased 8×8 baking pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 40 to 45 minutes.  The bars are done when a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool and cut into squares appropriately sized for your dogs.